Skip navigation

You are here

Faculty Distinguished Research Award

The Award, established in 2000, recognizes sustained research and/or artistic productivity of a UMN Morris faculty member over the course of a career.

The Faculty Distinguished Research Award consists of a single course replacement if feasible, or a cash award of $2,000 plus $500 to the discipline of the awardee, or an equivalent package to be negotiated with the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean. An individual may win this award only once.

Information on nominations, procedures and deadlines can be found here or contact the Dean’s Office.


2019–20   Ray Schultz, Theatre Arts

2018-19    Keith Brugger, Geology

2017-18    Julie Eckerle, English

2016-17    Pieranna Garavaso, Philosophy

2015-16    Michael Lackey, English

2014-15    None awarded

2013-14    Stephen Burks, Economics and Management

2012-13    Jong-Min Kim, Statistics

2011-12    Ted Pappenfus, Chemistry

2010-11    Neil Leroux, Coommunication, Media, and Rhetoric

2009-10    None awarded

2008-09    None awarded

2007-08    None awarded

2006-07    David P. Roberts, Mathematics

2005-06    None awarded

2004-05    Seung-Ho Joo, Political Science

2003-04    Cyrus Bina, Management

2002-03    Vicente Cabrera, Spanish

2001-02    Ishtiyaque Haji, Philosophy

2000-01    Vasilikie Demos, Sociology

1999-00    Eric Klinger, Psychology
                 Harold Hinds, History
                 Dwight Purdy, English
                 David Hoppe, Biology
                 James Cotter, Geology
                 James Carlson, Music