Skip navigation

You are here

Mary Martell Award

The Mary Martelle award serves as a continuing tribute to those personal qualities and many and varied contributions made by Mary Martelle, a senior secretary in the Office of Student Activities from 1965 until her death in 1976.

Criteria: Student Honoree

The award is presented in recognition of a student's extracurricular activities through which he/she found a way to enrich the campus community. Qualities to consider are:

  • Initiative
  • Creativity
  • Responsibility
  • Cooperation
  • Leadership
  • Concern for others

The nominee should be sensitive and knowledgeable about campus needs and should add freshness and a new dimension to either her/his organization(s) or to the people with whom the nominee has been involved.


Only full-time students are eligible for the student award. Students are not eligible to receive the Mary Martelle Award more than once. (The student recipient will receive a certificate and a check for $300.)

Criteria: Staff Honoree

Nominees for this award should be members of the United Staff Association (USA) who have found a way to reach beyond their particular duties and responsibilities to make contributions to the campus community as a whole.

While it is important that they exemplify in their daily work a commitment to the University, the primary purpose of the Mary Martelle Award is to recognize contributions above and beyond assigned job duties.

Examples of this include, but are not limited to, University (UMN Morris and all-University) and USA committee work; supporting students and student organizations; actively pursuing personal growth and knowledge (via classes, workshops, lectures, etc.); or any other form of contribution that demonstrates a nominee's willingness to 'go the extra mile.'


All United Staff Association (civil service and bargaining unit) personnel are eligible for the staff award. USA staff are eligible to receive the award more than once, but preference will be given to someone who has not received it previously. (The staff recipient will receive a certificate and $500 via payroll.)


Students, faculty, bargaining units, non-bargaining units, and organizations may make nominations to the Functions and Awards Committee. To be considered, nominations must be accompanied by written substantiation. 

Upon receipt of the nominations and their written substantiation, a subcommittee of the Functions and Awards Committee, consisting of 1 faculty/P&A, 1 student, and the USA member, will meet and review the nominations and determine the awardees. The subcommittee will be selected by the Functions and Awards Committee chair.

Staff Recipients

  • 2019 Angie Senger
  • 2018 Irene Maloney
  • 2017 Lynn Johnson
  • 2016 Stephanie Ferrian
  • 2015 Sarah Ashkar
  • 2014 Roger Boleman
  • 2013 Karen Ellis
  • 2012 Nancy Helsper
  • 2011 Jane Harstad
  • 2010 Laura Thielke
  • 2009 Carol McCannon
  • 2008 Liz Spohr
  • 2007 Jane Kill
  • 2006 Brenda Boever
  • 2005 Margaret 'Maggie' Larson
  • 2004 Jennifer Lund
  • 2003 Terri Hawkinson
  • 2002 Robert Thompson
  • 2001 Judy Korn
  • 2000 Dave Dylla
  • 1999 Jeri Mullin
  • 1998 Bonnie Gulbrandson
  • 1997 Judy Riley
  • 1996 Lynn Schulz
  • 1995 Rosa Kill
  • 1994 Bonnie Tipcke
  • 1993 Art Durkee
  • 1992 Brabara Eisinger
  • 1991 Ron Kubik
  • 1990 Pat Tanner
  • 1989 Avis Brandt
  • 1988 Marvin Schultz
  • 1987 Pam Gades
  • 1986 Ginny Hinmon
  • 1985 Martha Williams
  • 1984 Lois Hogander
  • 1983 Sara Haugen
  • 1982 Audre Ross
  • 1981 May P. Jesseph
  • 1980 Verne L. Chandler
  • 1979 Lila Watson
  • 1978 Pearl Johnson
  • 1977 Joyce Cain